Album Reviews
Band: Satyricon

Title: Deep Calleth Upon Deep

Label: Napalm Records

Satyricon have polarised fan and critics ever since their ‘Nemesis Divina’ heyday.  Either you like their every expanding sound or you don’t, it’s as simple as that!  ‘Deep Calleth Upon Deep’ is the Norwegian’s 9th full-length studio album that sees the band continue to explore new territories and harsh soundscapes.

There is a lot to like about this album, from the aggression of ‘Midnight Serpent’ and ‘Burial Rite’ that start and close either side of the record.  The title track and ‘Ghost of Rome’ are tantalizingly melodic, punchy and groove incredibly well.  ‘Brethren in the Dark’ is one of the slowest numbers that delivers a profusion of melancholic riffs played with ice-cold precision.  Furthermore, the gargantuan centrepiece of ‘Black Wings and Withering Doom’ is a slab of classic black metal that reminisces of Satyricon’s old school sound.

What I really enjoyed about this release is that it flows so well from start to finish.  The songs blend seamlessly with none outstaying their welcome.  It is very well polished, it sounds great and the quality of the songwriting is superb. No questions asked, ‘Deep Calleth Upon Deep’ is going to land in my top 10 at the end of the year.


 Review by: Rob Herald



1.  Midnight Serpent
2.  Blood Cracks Open The Ground
3.  To Your Brethren In The Dark
4.  Deep Calleth Upon Deep
5.  The Ghost Of Rome
6.  Dissonant
7.  Black Wings And Withering Gloom
8.  Burial Rite  


 All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall zine unless otherwise stated and may not be reproduced with prior written permission.