Artist: Amaze Me 
   Title: Guilty As Sin
   Label: AOR Heaven

Amaze Me first saw the light of day back in the mid 90’s with the subsequent release of their self titled debut album on the Japanese based Alfa Brunette label, which in turn led to the project being picked up by Now and Then Rrecords for their second album ‘Dream On’ in 97, then later in 98 with Z Records, for album number three ‘Wonderland’.

Now it's 2013 and we see Peter Broman and Conny Lind return with their long awaited fourth release ‘Guilty As Sin’, with Broman laying down all the instruments on the album and Lind delivering the pure bred Melodic/AOR Rock vocals we've become accustomed to.

Together the pair have produced an album that is melody rich and ticks all the boxes for the die hard fans of this genre, without treading too far off the trodden path of the bands previous albums and keeping true what was laid down before.

The album opens up ‘Everybody’ and instantly you’ll find you’re being swept back to the heyday of the genre.  There is definitely that 80’s feel about this one and that same vibe is continued with ‘Lost In A Dream’, only this time they air towards the West Coast AOR side of things.

The tempo is picked up some what with ‘Can't Stop Loving You’, a track with probably the best guitars of the album featured on it.  Then the up tempo rock continues with ‘Save Me’, while again not straying too far from the 80’s feel.

The AOR/Melodic Rock albums have always been known to throw in a decent ballad and this album is no different.  The first of these being the soaring tones of ‘Endless Love’, before the rocking comes back in spades with the excellent ‘With Or Without You’, which despite the robotic voice intro, is the best modern styled song on the album and is equal to any of songs in this genre coming out of Scandinavia at the moment.

That 80’s feel comes rushing back with ‘The Pain’ and the up tempo rocker title track ‘Guilty As Sin’, before it's time to for the pair to really rock things out with ‘On The Run’.    

It’s all change for a power ballad with ‘Dying To Be Loved’, before picking it up a gear with ‘Love Is Blind’ and the album closer ‘On Fire’.  It's clear the pair are wearing their hearts and influences on their sleeves with this album and aren’t trying to reinvent the wheel in any way or form.  This is just good old fashioned AOR/Melodic Rock and will sure get the thumbs up from the diehard fans of the genre. 

Review by: Barry McMinn


1. Everybody
2. Lost In A Dream
3. Can't Stop Loving You
4. Save Me
5. Endless Love
6. With Or Without You
7. The Pain
8. Guilty As Sin
9. On The Run
10. Dying To Be Loved
11. Love Is Blind
12. On Fire



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.