Artist:  A.O.R.
   Title: L.A. Temptation
   Label: AOR Heaven

'L.A. Temptation' is the latest album from Frédéric Slama and his AOR project, and once again he has amassed a fine array of stars of the Melodic and Hard Rock world, both musically and vocally.

This time round Slama has be joined by a "who's who" of the Melodic and Hard Rock world with Tommy Denander, Paul Sabu, James Christian (House Of Lords), Philip Bardowell (Unruly Child), Jerry Hludzik (Dakota), Göran Edman (Crossfade), Chris Ousey (Heartland, Virginia Wolf), Paul Shortino (Rough Cutt, Quiet Riot), Hank Erix (Houston), Joey Summer, Rick Riso, Michael Landau, Mike Baird, Christian Tolle, Bruce Gaitsch, Alessandro Del Vecchio & all Lionville members and many more.

The album get's underway with ‘No Margin For Error’ featuring the vocals of Bardowell, which is a great way to open up the album.  A great slice of pure unadulterated melody rich rock worthy of the musicians behind it.

The high quality tunes continue with ‘Above Suspicion’, this time with the vocal might of Göran Edman leading this one.  Definitely one for the old guard of the genre.

It's time for Chris Ousey to take up the mike for the hard rocking ‘From L.A. To Paris’ and the legend that is James Christian to keep the hard rock flowing with the excellent ‘A Heartbeat Away’.

One of my favourite vocalist's Paul Shortino lays down his unmistakable vocals to the harder edged ‘Silent Victory’, before the melodic tones of ‘No Ones Gonna Hurt Me Anymore’ floods through the speakers, featuring Rick Riso.

This fine album continues to impress with ‘Second Chance’, the second track to feature Göran Edman at the mike and again the Crossfade frontman delivers on so many levels.

We’re more than half way through the album and its been all killer, no filler so far and that continues as another favourite vocalist of mine Mr Paul Sabu delivers those timeless pipes of his on the rockier ‘Out On The Streets’, before we get a little old school AOR vibe from Jerry Hludzik on ‘Hold Back The Dawn’.

The traditional hard rocking of ‘The Price To Pay’ is brought back with Hank Erix & Göran Edman, bringing their collective talents to this one, then it's time for Sabu to return to bring his unmistakable vocal prowess to ‘Outside Heaven’, before the album closes in fine style with the modern rocker ‘When Darkness Falls’, which features Joey Summer leading the vocal charge.

This has to be ranked as one of the AOR albums of the year, there is so much talent on display and so much for fans of the genre that it's simply impossible to fault.

Review by: Barry McMinn


1. No Margin For Error
2. Above Suspicion
3. From L.A. To Paris
4. A Heartbeat Away
5. Silent Victory
6. No One's Gonna Hurt Me Anymore
7. Second Chance At Love
8. Out On The Streets
9. Hold Back The Dawn
10. The Price To Pay
11. Outside Heaven
12. When Darkness Falls



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.