Artist: Code Of Silence 
   Title: Dark Skies Over Babylon
   Label: Mausoleum Records

The world of Melodic Metal over the years has been dominated by bands out of continental Europe, with only a few British bands breaking the mould in recent years and delivering the metal to the masses.  Now another band are flying the flag (or should I say Saltire) for British Melodic Metal are Code Of Silence.

Back in 2010 Eden’s Curse’s Paul Logue, along with James Murray, set about forming a band of talented Scottish musicians.  So it was to Edinburgh for drummer John Clelland and then to Renfrewshire for keyboardist Scott McLean, although it was south of the border that the guys went to enlist the talents of young virtuoso guitarist Ben Randall (ex-Power Quest) and even further a field to Brazil for vocalist Gus Monsanto! (Timo Tolkki's Revolution Renaissance).  So Code of Silence was born.

With Logue and Murray providing the songs for this wondrous slice of Melodic Metal, it was over to fellow Eden’s Curser Alessandro Del Vecchio to mix and master the album.  The result is something rather special, in the world of home grown Metal.

The album opens up with the obligatory intro ‘Omertà’, before the might of the album is released proper with the excellent ‘Bitter Sweet Paradise’, as the guitars of Randall ring out in all their glory, before the towering rhythm section of Clelland and Murray soon join in the act.  But it's when Monsanto delivers his first note that you know that this is going to be something rather special, his vocals fill the air with a power and grace that is the icing on this Melodic Metal cake.

The album continues its impressive assault on the senses with ‘Sky Is Falling Down’, the debut single from the album.  Another soaring guitar laden slice of Metal that will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand to attention, with Tainted Nations frontman and Eden’s Curse drummer Pete Newdeck providing backing vocals on this one.

The band power on through and I mean POWER with the massive ‘Tame The Tempest’, before the even more impressive ‘Dark Skies Of Babylon’.  This one has to be my track of the album, it's just seven and a half minutes of pure ear-candy, with Monsanto dueting with Joanna Ruiz on this one.  This might not be an all out screaming guitar frenzied slice of head down metal, but what it is is just as powerful and with this track in particular, I think the band are making a statement that they are the complete Melodic Metal package.

The tempo is picked up once more with the stunning ‘Seventh Seal’, with Randall exchanging chops with McLean’s soaring keyboards to great effect on the this one, before it's up another gear with storming ‘Witches Of November’, then bringing a little darker vibe with the tremendous ‘Black Abyss’.

It's to the Crusades that we find the band thunderously finding inspiration for the excellent ‘Knights Of The Crimson Cross’, then it's back to the epic multi-faceted Metal once more with the quite sublime ‘Midnight Cathedral’.  This for me is Monsanto at his very best.

The album closes in fine style with the haunting ‘Here To Heaven’, although I say close, the album does in fact boast two bonus tracks, with the alternative version of the title track ‘Dark Skies Over Babylon’ and the original demo of the single ‘Sky Is Falling Down’.

This is one hell of debut from a band who only came into being in 2010 and has to be one of the finest Melodic Metal albums to come out of the UK for many a year now.  The silence is broken, spread the word, there may be 'Darks Skies Over Babylon', but there is a shining light in the world of  British Melodic Metal and it is Code Of Silence.

Review by: Barry McMinn


1. Omerta
2. Bitter Sweet Paradise
3. Sky Is Falling Down
4. Tame The Tempest
5. Dark Skies Over Babylon
6. Seventh Seal
7. Witches Of November
8. Black Abyss
9. Knights Of The Crimson Cross
10. Midnight Cathedral
11. Here To Heaven
12. Darks Skies Over Babylon (bonus - alt version)
13. Sky Is Falling Down (bonus - original demo)



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.