Artist:  Annihilator
   Title: Metal
   Label: SPV

Canadian metallers Annihilator return with their new release and twelfth studio album ’Metal’, this album sees stalwart Annihilator members Dave Padden and Jeff Waters bring a whole host of guest artists with them on this one.

As Thrash Metal bands go you can't get any more Old Skool metal than Annihilator, but this band also appreciate the New Skool of metal and have invited some of those artists from both era’s to guest on the album, with the likes of Willie Adler (Lamb of God), Michael Arnott (Arch Enemy), Corey Beaulieu (Trivium), Anders Bjorler (The Haunted), Angela Gossow (Arch Enemy), Danko Jones (Danko Jones), Steve Kudlow (Anvil), Alexi Laitho (Children of Bodom), Jeff Loomis (Nevermore), Jacob Lynam (Lynam) and Jesper Stromblad (In Flames) all bringing something different to each song.

First up is ‘Clown Parade’ which features Jeff Loomis and is a true statement that Thrash Metal is here to stay.  This anthemic opener sets the precedence for the rest of the album while its pounding rhythm thrashing it up big style.

Next up is another real piece of genius by Waters as he mixes the subtle vocals of Danko Jones with the snarling vocal style of Angela Gossow on this powerful funk ridden metal assault.

The band also salute those bands who brought Thrash Metal to the forefront of the metal scene back in the 80's as the salute the likes of Slayer, Metallica, Anthrax and the like on another anthemic piece of old school metal ‘Army Of One’.  This track features Anvils Steve “Lips” Kudlow.  It's then time to darken the sound a little with ‘Downright Dominate’ this thumping piece of metal features Alex Laiho the tempo is kept going with ‘Smothered’ and the mean sounds of ‘Operation Annihilation’, before speeding things up good style with the metallers delight ‘Haunted’.

Once again it's time to slow things down just a touch with one of my personal favourites off the album ‘Kicked’.  A track which features Trivium’s Corey Beaulieu this up tempo guitar fuelled rocker is just superb.  The album returns to the darker side with the Sabbath-esq ‘Detonation’, before the album comes to a close with the speed fest that is ‘Chasing The High’, which rounds off a great old School Metal album that is a must for all fans of the 80's Bay side Metal scene.


1. Clown Parade
2. Couple Suicide
3. Army Of One
4. Downright Dominate 
5. Smothered 
6. Operation Annihilation
7. Haunted 
8. Kicked
9. Detonation 
10. Chasing The High



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.