Artist:  Astral Doors
   Title: Jerusalem
   Label: Metalville

In 2002 out of Borlange Sweden they came, with a mission to conquer the Power Metal world with their Dioesque power driven metal.  They are of course Astral Doors, the brainchild of guitarist Joachim Norlund and drummer Johan Lindstedt, who enlisted the mighty vocals of Nils Patrik Johansson and Johan’s friend Joakim Roberg (keyboards), and together with Martin Hagland and Mika Itaranta, they released their debut album ‘Of The Sun And The Father’.

That was just the beginning, now the band return with their latest outing the excellent ‘Jerusalem’, that will show the world that Astral Doors are a force to be reckoned with in Power Metal circles once more.

The album sees the band deliver some of the biggest slices of power infused Metal to come out of Scandinavia over recent years.  The album gets off to a towering start with ‘Seventh Crusade’, with Johansson delivering those mighty Dioesque pipes, along with the six string mastery of Norlund which are built on the solid foundation of Lindstedt’s drums and Ulf Lagerstroen’s bass.  A massive Metal anthem that really gets the album off to the best possible start.

The towering Metal continues with the all guns blazing rocker ‘With A Strangers Eye’, before unleashing another mighty metal anthem in ‘Child Of Rock n Roll’.  This is where the Dio styled vocal really comes to the forefront.  This could easily been something from Ronnie’s Black Sabbath days.

The band turn to World War II for inspiration for the dark epic ‘Pearl Harbour’.  A track with more licks that you can shake a stick at, then it's time to bring the tempo down a touch with the massive ‘Lost Crucifix’, before bringing it back up to speed big time with the rocking Babylon Rise’.

Keeping the big guns blazing the band continue to fire on all six with the old school rocker ‘Suicide Rime’, before reaching back to the Crusades for ‘The Battle Of Jacobs Ford’, which tells of the Muslims victory over the Crusaders at Jacobs Ford in Syria.  This is epic story telling, which is often bread and butter to the Power Metal fraternity.

It's time for the band to get really fired up with the ball busting assault of ‘Operation Freedom’, before a total switch with the almost folk metal of ‘The Day After Yesterday’.  Next this triumphant return closes with the title track ‘Jerusalem’, again a real slice of epic Power Metal that rounds off a tremendous release that will have them rocking in the aisles when the band take to Europe's stages in 2012.


1. Seventh Crusade
2. With A Strangers Eye
3. Child Of Rock n' Roll
4. Pearl Harbour
5. Lost Crucifix
6. Babylon Rise
7. Suicide Rime
8. The Battle Of Jacob’s Ford
9. Operation Freedom
10. The Day After Yesterday
11. Jerusalem



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.