Artist:  Babyjane
   Title: Make It Sick
   Label: Z Records

'Make It Sick' is the second album form Australian Hard Rockers Babyjane and takes up where the debut ‘Are You Listening’ left off, as the quartet delivers guitar filled rock with just a hint of punky edge.

First time around 'Are You Listening' had the mighty Michael Wagener handling the mixing duties, this time round Wagener has taken full control of the album as he mixes, masters and produces the album and stamps his mark on this album giving it a bit more punch.

The album opens up with the title track ‘Make It Sick’, which features on vocals John Corabi, who delivers his trademark raspy vocals to this one.  Then its time for frontman Andy Smith to take up the mike for the first single off the album ‘She’s A Liar’, where John Gerasolo (guitar), Paul Judge (bass) and Nik Kats (drums), are set loose on your eardrums with true Aussie swagger and they continue to rock things up with ‘New York Queen / London Whore’ and ‘Nu-Sonic Plaque’.  Two great rockers that show the band wear their influences on their sleeves, as they spin a web of old school rock mixed with modern edged hard rock.

The band do have gentler side and this is brought to the forefront with the rich melodic tones of ‘Bad Woman’, then it's back on the gas once more with the rip snorting ‘Ruby Roulette’ and riff laden Hard Rockin’ ‘Bittersweet’, before hitting hard and fast with the bluesy filled rocker ‘Fakin’ It’. 

There is a darker side to this album and it comes in the form of the modern rocker ‘Underground Detention’.  This one is definitely one for the new generation rocker who seems to have more issues than I can remember having when I was young. Then it's heads down rocking once again with ‘Somebody Up There Hates Me’, this one has Skid Row angst feel about it, before ‘Bleeding Eyes’, which is a short 50 second closer to the main album.

But this album does have a bonus track, a full band rendition of 'Make It Sick' with Smith at the mike.  All of which rounds off what is good album.  Wagener has done the band justice and produced a great Hard Rock album that will surely take the band to the next level.

Review by: Barry McMinn


1. Make It Sick
2. She's Just A Liar
3. New York Queen / Londond Whore
4. Nu-Sonic Plague
5. Bad Woman
6. Ruby Roulette
7. Bittersweet
8. Fakin' It
9. Underground Detention
10. Somebody Up There Hates Me
11. Bleeding Eyes



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.