Artist:  C-187
   Title: Collision
   Label: Mascot records 

C-187 is the brainchild from former Pestilence guitarist Patrick Mameli, who together with fellow metallers Sean Reinert and Tony Choy both of Cynic fame, are joined by Tony Jelencovich of B-Thong to create what has been described as the Metal supergroup.

The bands debut album 'Collision' is a no holds barred brain mashing assault, the likes of which haven’t been heard since Slayer's debut album hit the airwaves. Their ferocious approach is present from track one, the title track ‘Collision’, which is a baptism of fire for the listener as the ear bleeding begins with Mameli’s riffs and Reinert’s thumping drums and Choy’s chopping bass lines laying the way for the extreme vocals of Jelencovich to unleash their power and angst.

The band definitely have taken their influences from the LA rap metal bands and interwoven it with some hard assed Euro Metal to give the band that rare quality of uniqueness.

The intensity of the album continues with ‘Cruisin’ For A Bruisin’ another hard hitting attack that never eases.  The album takes those L.A. Metal tones to another level of intensity with ‘Roadblock (D.O.A)’, with the vocals of Jelencovich reaching higher levels of anger that make you think ... I wouldn’t like to meet this guy in a dark alley!  Together with Mameli’s near perfect guitar assault and Reinert’s power drumming, this is one of the highlights of the album.

The album has a definite theme about it with tracks like ‘Drugged And Mugged’, ‘Stalker’, ‘Murda’, ‘Homicide’ and ‘Sidewalk Chalk’, all depicting the darkside of today’s back streets.

The album doesn’t give in to trends or fads, this is as ferocious and intense from beginning to end and will without a doubt see the band into good stead for the future.  I’m sure the name of C187 will be on the roster’s of many of the European Metal festivals next year just on the strength of this album alone, never mind the band members.



1. Collision
2. Cruisin' For A Bruisin'
3. Roadblock (D.O.A.)
4. Drugged And Mugged 
5. Stalker
6. Murda
7. Homicide
8. P.C.P. (Murda In My Head)
9. Rip Deal
10. Sidewalk Chalk
11. Knee Deep In
12. Life Is Dead
13. Strapped With Heat
14. New Territory



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.