Artist: Cathedral
   Title: The Garden Of Unearthly Delights
   Label: Nuclear Blast Records

Coventry's own 'doom metallers' Cathedral return with their 8th album, 'The Garden Of Unearthly Delights', a release that hails the bands return to form. The band have taken the genre to new heights in the past by incorporating different musical styles into their releases, but with this new album they go back to basics and redefine the doom metal genre.

The album starts off proper with 'Tree Of Life And Death'. A full on doom assault on the senses that showcases the bands trademark powerful guitar riffs, and slow deliberate vocals, which leave you in no doubt that the band really do mean business this time.

The next track 'North Berwick Witch Trials' is a more up tempo affair as far as doom metal goes, and is very reminiscent of early Black Sabbath in its overall conception, although the vocals arenít quite Ozzy.

The album continues to show the bands reluctance to conform to the stereotypical metal release, and continue releasing their own brand of hard hitting doom laden metal. Well if it isnít broken donít fix it!  This is none more prominent than with the tracks 'Corpsecycle' with it heavy distorted bass, and the total change in direction with the instrumental 'Fields of Zagara'.  The powerful 'Oro The Manslayer' just shows the diversity of the band and their ability to continue to come up with the goods where needed.

But the icing on the cake has to be the 27 minute long track 'The Garden'.  A track that mixes haunting female vocals, with thunderous guitar riffs, and mind crushing rhythm sections.  There's so many tempo and mood changes that it almost makes your head spin with its sheer complexity.  Thus making this the ultimate statement that Cathedral are back and are ready for the world even if the world arenít ready for them.


  1. Dearth AD 2005
  2. Tree of Life & Death
  3. North Berwick Witch Trials
  4. Upon Azrael's Wings
  5. Corpsecycle
  6. Fields of Zagara
  7. Oro The Manslayer
  8. Beneath A Funeral Sun
  9. The Garden
 10. Proga-Europa



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.