Artist:  Church Of Misery 
   Title: The Second Coming
   Label: Rising Records

This Japanese doom/sludge metal band has been wowing the airwaves for the past 17 years.  With their songs focusing primarily on serial killers and mass murderers, this is a re-issue on Rise Above Records of their 2004 album, 'The Second Coming'.  Again songs are named and include some form of detail of what they did, with the song tailored to each, but still with the distinct rhythm.

This album doesnít burst in, instead it slides in.  The instrumentals donít seem as tight as they have on previous albums, in fact they sound more disjoined and disordered, however this may also be due to the songís content.  The vocals are also different, taking a deeper, richer, more emotive tone than they did on their first album.  Again, the heavy doom/stone influence can be heard, with the juxtaposition of screamo vocals against the slower and more ponderous instrumentals, which weirdly works.

Each song has a concurrent thread running throughout, usually through the rhythm section, but this is changed with the addition of guitars and the sometimes screamo lyrics, which occurs more and more often as the album progresses.  This is nowhere near as tight or as entertaining as the first, and feels a little like an afterthought of an album.  Here, it seems, 'The Second Coming' has failed.

Review by: Kerry H


1. I, Motherfucker (Ted Bundy)
2. Soul Discharge (Mark Essex)
3. Red Ripper Blues (Andrei Chikatilo)
4. Filth Bitch Boogie (Aileen Wuornos)
5. One Way ... Or Another (Cactus cover)
6. Candy Man (Dean Coryll)
7. El Topo
8. For Mad Men Only (May Blitz cover - extended version)



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.