Artist:  Circle II Circle
   Title: Seasons Will Fall
   Label: earMusic

'Seasons Will Fall' is the new album from US Metallers Circle II Circle and sees the return full time of vocalist Zak Stevens, who along with Mitch Stewart (bass), Christian Wentz (guitar), Bill Hudson (guitar), Henning Wanner (keyboards) and Adam Sagan (drums), bring together the fusion of Hard Rock and Heavy Metal that has become the sound of Circle II Circle over their previous five albums.

With this album number six the band have taken Stevens vocals might to another level in what has to be the bands finest album to date.

From the opener ‘Diamond Blade’, the fusion of great melody and rich guitars is felt from the off, with Steven’s ever dominant vocals delivering what we expect from the ex-Savatage frontman, with the twin guitars of Hudson and Wentz bringing that metal edge.

The album continues with the impressive hard hitting ‘Without A Sound’ and the riff laden ‘Killing Death’, before the epic ‘Epiphany’ just coming in at under nine minutes long.  This one takes me back to the classic Savatage sound, the keys, the big bass lines, the towering licks and a massive power driven vocal, it's all here.

It's back the Hard Rock / Metal mix once more with the stunning ‘End Of Emotion’.  The haunting melodies of Stevens once again blend perfectly with the more meaty metal edged guitars, before the guitars really take over with the all out Melodic Metal of ‘Dreams That Never Die’.

The tempo is brought right down again with the gentler intro into the title track ‘Season Will Fall’.  I say the gentler intro because the track really ignites into a power-driven mix of heady bass and double kick drums, interlaced with a grungier metal guitar, all capped by the unmistakable might of Stevens vocals.

The pedal to the Metal is brought back kicking and screaming big style with ‘Never Gonna Stop’ and the stomping ‘Isolation’, the latter having an old school Black Sabbath feel about it.

If ever there was such a thing as a Metal Ballad then ‘Sweet Despair’ is it, then it's all guns blazing once more with the more traditional Metal of ‘Downshot’, before the album closes with the magnificent ‘Only Yesterday’.  Another song that has that Savatage feel about it.  A gentle keyboard and vocal start that just builds and builds into a cacophony of melodic guitars, powerful vocals and keyboards, and wraps up a great album that once again shows that Circle II Circle are a name to be reckoned with in world of Metal once more.

Review by: Barry McMinn


1. Diamond Blade
2. Without A Sound
3. Killing Death
4. Epiphany
5. End Of Emotion
6. Dreams That Never Die
7. Seasons Will Fall
8. Never Gonna Stop
9. Isolation
10. Sweet Despair
11. Downshot
12. Only Yesterday



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.