Artist: Covered Call 
   Title: Impact
   Label: AOR Heaven

Like a comet out of the blue Covered Call come back with their aptly entitled second album 'Impact', and what an impact! Again the Swedes bring the heat but with one change, in comes Göran Edman on the vocals, taking over the mic from Thomas Vikström who delivered the goods on the debut album ‘Money Never Sleeps’. The rest of the band are as follows, Joel Carlsson and Morgan Rosenquist on guitars, Andy Loos on bass guitar and Ronny Svanströmer on drums and along with Edman, they have produced one of the finest Melodic Rock albums of the year.

From the openers ‘Lorraine’ and ‘When The Lights Are Out’ you can tell this is going to be one hell of an album and it is just that.

The album ticks all the boxes for both the traditional and new wave of Melodic Rock fan and highlights the high quality of Melodic and Hard Rock music currently coming out of Scandinavia.

The melodic bliss continues with ‘Thing About Old Times’ and ‘Look Into Your Mind’, with Edman displaying those majestic pipes that we in the genre have loved in all his previous endeavors.  Next up they start picking up the tempo and take that guitar sound up another notch or two with the excellent ‘Hold On’, before bringing in a touch of the old school Melodic Rock sound with ‘Make A Wish’, with Edman giving it his vocal all once more.

The album keeps producing the goods with the haunting tones of ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’, before a touch of hard rocking courtesy of ‘Wake Up’ and the excellent ‘When I’m Gone’.  Although these Swedes show they aren’t afraid to push the envelope on occasions and switch things up a bit, with a touch a Southern Blues funk in the form of the fantastic ‘Live It Up’ and the guitar fuelled old school rocker ‘Last Goodbye’, both of which help to wrap up what is another stunning slice of Scandinavian melody rich rock and one of the best albums in the genre this year.

Review by: Barry McMinn


1. Lorraine
2. When The Lights Are Out
3. Think About Old Times
4. Look Into Your Mind
5. Hold On
6. Make A Wish
7. Nothing Lasts Forever
8. Wake Up
9. When I'm Gone
10. Live It Up
11. Last Goodbye



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.