Artist: Cullooden 
   Title: Silent Scream
   Label: Dead End Exit Records

Cullooden are a new Progressive Metal band who are about to take the world by storm with the release of their debut album 'Silent Scream'.  So who are they?  The main protagonists are Fredrik Joakimsson (lead vocals, rhythm guitars), Jonas Ekestubbe (lead guitar) and Michael Södergren (bass), with additional help from Daniel Bekjbom (drums) and David Kastlund (keyboards). 

Fredrik Joakimsson initially imagined Cullooden as a solo / duo project more than a decade ago after discussing the idea with bassist Micke Södergren, and started to lay the foundations on which the more technical, modern and more mature style of melodic metal, upon which they would soon build.

The album itself is oozes Prog class with Joakimsson delivering some of the finest vocals the genre will hear, aided and abetted by some fine musicianship from the rest of the band.  Think Dream Theatre meets DGM meets Circus Maximus and you won't be far from what Cullooden are all about.

From the opener ‘Heaven Feels So Hollow' to the closer ‘Star Of The Night’, the class act that is Cullooden shines through.  There are not enough superlatives to describe this release, you just have to take my word for it.  If you're into your Prog Metal and like a touch of melody thrown in to mix, then this is will be right up your street.  You have been warned.  The album may be called 'Silent Scream', but when the word gets out about how good this album is, the noise will be far from silent.  

Review by: Barry McMinn


1. Heaven Feels So Hollow
2. Drowning In Silence
3. Endless Tears
4. Embrace Your Destiny
5. Our Only Desire
6. The Progress
7. Take Hold Of Your Fear
8. An Interesting Fact
9. Welcome To Wonderland
10. Star Of The Night



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.