Artist:  Docker's Guild
   Title: The Mystic Technocracy (Season 1: The Age Of Ignorance)
   Label: Lion Music

Throughout history man has fought in the name of religion, from Neolithic man to modern day warriors, the battle may be in a different nation and under many flags, but for the vast majority of wars over the ages, religion has always been somewhere in the background.

Taking this on board, virtuoso musician Douglas Docker has set his story of 'The Mystic Technocracy', a silicon life form that formed religion as a way to control, manipulate and eventually destroy humanity.

Bringing together the diverse influences from Progressive giants like Genesis, Yes and more recent masters of the genre Dream Theater, as well as Melodic and AOR bands like Journey and Asia, together with early Bowie and even the pop extremes of Duran Duran, the musical barriers have been broken in the pursuit of a Progressive Masterpiece.

Then when you bring in vocal talents like Tony Mills, Amanda Somerville, Goran Edman, John Payne, as well as a multitude of musical talent that includes Gregg Bissonette, Magnus Jacobson, Jeff Watson, Tony Franklin, Guthrie Govan, plus Docker himself, you know that this album is something special even without hearing a single track.  The line-up alone makes you want to check it out.

This is ten superb tracks of pure blissful euphoria for the ear, from the opener 'A Matter Of Energy', to the closer 'Black Swans', you feel yourself being sucked into this Science Fiction world that Docker has created.

If music could be captured in colours, then this Rock Opera would be a kaleidoscope if infinite wonderment.

Tracks of note have to be ‘Legion Of Aliens’ (feat Tony Mills).  The magic carpet ride of keyboards and guitars that is ‘Darwin’s Tears’.  The pure Prog gold of the David Bowie cover ‘Loving The Alien’, and my track / tracks of the album, the fantastic ‘The Secret of DNA (pt 1) / Purple Orb / The Secret of DNA (pt 2)'.  Eleven minutes plus of sonic bliss.  This is Docker's 'Darkside of the Moon'.

This is the first of five parts and if the rest are anywhere near the splendour of this first outing, then the world of Progressive Metal will have to rewrite the history books as a new masterpiece is about to be unleashed.  


1. A Matter Of Energy
2. The Mystic Technocracy
3. Darwin's Tears
4. Norse Cosmogony (Part 1)
5. Norse Cosmogony (Part 2)
6. Judeo Christian Cosmogony
7. The Divine Comedy
8. Legion Of Aliens
9. Loving The Alien
10. The Gem Of Love
11. The Secret Of DNA (Part 1)  Purple Orb / The Secret of DNA (Part 2)
12. Prophecy
13. Black Swans 



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.