Artist:  Robin Beck
   Title: Underneath
   Label: HMMR Records

To make you way in the mainly male orientated world of Melodic / Hard Rock, a female artist has to be strong, and to be still around after some 30 years takes a rather special person, and Robin Beck is such a person.

'Underneath' is Robin's latest album and without a doubt one of her finest to date.  The album is produced by husband James Christian, who also duets with Robin on one of the tracks.

As well as James we see a couple of House Of Lords regulars, BJ Zamba and Jimi Bell, as well as melodic rock stalwart Tommy Denander, all of whom join Robin on this one, while keeping things in the family, we see James and Robin’s daughter Liv Beck laying down some backing vocals.

For this album Robin has sought some of the finest songwriters in the business to submit material for ‘Underneath’ and the result I have to say makes for a very, very good album and a very diverse one at that.

Things get underway with ‘Wrecking Ball’, a great slice of Hard Rock to propel the album in the right direction.  That same Hard Rock vibe is continued with the impressive ‘Aint That Just Like Love’, which you can tell was penned in part by Fiona.  It has that 80’s rock feel but without the polish of the era.  It has a great edginess to the guitar sound that gives it  that modern Melodic Rock feel.

Speaking of modern edginess, one track that ticked all the boxes for me is the fantastic ‘Sprain’, this is Robin at her angsty best.  Then it's time to bring the tempo down for the stunning ballad and title track ‘Underneath’.

The tempo is picked up once again with another great slice of modern rock with ‘Catfight’ and the stomping ‘Check Your Attitude’, another track on which Robin could show off some great angsty vocals, (look out Avril Lavigne there as new skater chick in town!), before it's back to the melodic power infused ballads with the smouldering tones of ‘Burnin Me Down’, on which Robin duets with husband James..

The hard rock comes back with a bang with another of my favourite tracks off the album ‘Perfect Storm’.  This song has to be played loud and proud, so you can really feel it through to your bones. 

Another great slice of modern melody rich rock has to be the groove filled ‘Ya Can’t Fight Love’, before another stunning ballad ‘I Swear The Nights’.  Then this fantastic album closes as it started, with a great rocker in ‘Follow You’.  This one caps off one of the best Robin Beck albums of all time and there have been some corkers.  This one ranks up there with some of the best in the genre this year.

Review by: Barry McMinn


1. Wrecking Ball
2. Aint That Just Like Love
3. Sprain
4. Underneath
5. Catfight
6. Check Your Attitude
7. Burnin Me Down
8. Perfect Storm
9. Ya Can't Fight Love
10. I Swear The Nights
11. Follow You



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.