Album Reviews
Band: Max Pie

Title: Odd Memories

Label: Mausoleum Records

'Odd Memories' is the long awaited 3rd album from Progressive Metallers Max Pie, and the first to feature new bassist Lucas Boudina on bass, and follows the band successful second opus 'Eight Pieces One World'.

Once again led by Italian powerhouse vocalist Tony Carlino, the six string wizardry of Damien Di Fresco and the massive drums of Sylvain Godenne, this new album takes Max Pie to the next level, as they have honed a more progressive and heavily melodic edge to their sound for this release.

This is felt from the off after the film score styled intro ‘Odd Memories', with the full opener ‘Age Of Slavery’.  The massive keyboards, soaring guitars and power rhythm section open this one up, with an angsty vocal from Carlino showing that heavier edge, but fear not, this isn’t a growler album, as Carlino soon unleashes those powerful pipes we felt on 'Eight Pieces One World'.  It’s the guitars of Di Fresco that really stand out on this one.  Those towering melodic riffs building their very best forming the backbone of this one.

The Prog Metal really gets underway with the epic ‘Odd Future’, as the big rhythm section of Godenne and Boudina lay down a really solid foundation for Di Fresco’s blistering guitar work, then Carlino adds the icing the cake with a towering soulful vocal. 

One of my favourite tracks off the album has to be the fantastic ‘Promised Land’.  A flurry of soaring keyboards and bass lines and thunderous drumming again lay down the ground work for the big licks and towering vocals.  This is Prog Metal at its very best.

Then its time for the nine minute plus epic ‘Love Hurts’, which is where the band showcase perfectly their progressive pedigree, with Di Fresco’s soaring guitar work once again shining through, with Boudina’s equally huge bass lines making a solid contribution to this one.  If you're into Circus Maximus, then you’ll get where the band are coming from with this one. Quite simply magnificent!

The band bring that heavier vibe back into the mix with the massive 'Don’t Call My Name’.  A track much in the vein of Symphony X, before bringing things down a touch with the balladesque tone of ‘Hold On’, a song that starts off with an Carlino accompanied with a semi acoustic guitar, but this soon builds as the rest of the band join the party.  This one has the same vibe as ‘Like A September Day’ from the bands debt album 'Initial Process' and is another of my favourite tracks off the album.

The Progressive edge is brought back in bucketfuls with the superb ‘Unchain Me’, only this time the guys add a little Symphonic edge to the mix, before really bringing the big guns with massive ‘Cyber Junkie’, featuring another blistering back-beat from the rhythm section, whilst Carlino brings that angsty vibe back to the vocals as on ‘Age of Slavery’.

The album closes off with the riff laden ‘The Fountain Of Youth’, which opens at a blistering pace, but soon the lighting riffs fall away and the towering vocals and more prog metal tones come back in a wave melodic elevated guitars, all cemented on that solid bass and drums, before Di Fresco really lets rip as he and the keyboards duel it out to the end.

This wraps up what is without a doubt the bands finest album to date which I’m sure will put the name of Max Pie on the international Prog Metal map for all the right reasons.  I for one can't wait to see these songs performed in the live enviroment.

Review by: Barry McMinn



1. Odd Memories 
2. Age Of Slavery 
3. Odd Fortune 
4. Promised Land 
5. Love Hurts 
6. Don't Call My Name 
7. Hold On
8. Unchain Me 
9. Cyber Junkie 
10. The Fountain Of Youth 


 All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall zine unless otherwise stated and may not be reproduced with prior written permission.