Album Reviews
Band: Brainstorm

Title: Scary Creatures

Label: AFM Records

'Scary Creatures' is the 15th studio album from German Power-metal giants Brainstorm and follows their 2014 ‘Firesoul’ album.  The band are back with an album that once again sees the Germans showing how Power-metal should sound and feel.

This new album sees the band expanding their sound to bring in a more heavier anthemic vibe and you can feel this from the opener and first single ‘The World To See’, this is a prime example of what this new Brainstorm opus all about.  Led by the vocals of Andy Franck, along with the big licks power-driven rhythms that we have become associated with Brainstorm over the years. 

The albums takes the Power-metal genre bull by the scruff of the neck and shakes its very foundations with 'How Much Can You Take' and the metal assault on the senses that is ‘We Are’.  The pounding ‘Where Angels Dream’ is the band at full flight, the double kick drum and huge bass lines dominate this one, along with the twin guitars of Torsten Ihlenfeld and Milan Loncaric, which unite in Power-metal heaven, as they throw out the monstrous licks like they are six string confetti.

The title track ‘Scary Creatures’ in up next, again another rip-snorting power-infused metal with that teutonic edge and this continues on ‘Twisted Ways’, with Franck at his most angst, before the tempo is brought down, just a touch mind you, with the melodic metal feel of ‘Caressed By The Blackness’.  This is just a short reprise as it's back to the full on metal assault with ‘Scars In Your Eyes’.

'Take Me To The Never' is pure-bred Brainstorm, chucking riffs and a hammering rhythm section.  All this before the album closes in style with another taste of the bands melodic metal side, with the excellent ‘Sky Among The Clouds.  It may have been two years in the making, but 'Scary Creatures' was well worth the wait, as Brainstorm are back and bigger and better than ever.

Review by: Barry McMinn



1.  The World To See
2.  How Much Can You Take 
3.  We Are
4.  Where Angels Dream
5.  Scary Creatures
6.  Twisted Ways
7.  Caressed By The Darkness
8.  Scars In Your Eyes
9.  Take Me To The Never
10. Sky Among The Clouds


 All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall zine unless otherwise stated and may not be reproduced with prior written permission.