Album Reviews
Band: Stone Broken

Title: All In Time

Label: Independent Release

For a band that formed less than 3 years ago, Stone Broken have certainly caught the imagination of the Rock community with their big brand of ballsy, no nonsense rock that fills out this album (and the room when played loud!), and it's no wonder that 'The Hairy Bikers' raved about them recently, plus the fact that they've also been nominated for 'Best New Band' on Planet Rock, so without further ado, welcome to 'All In Time'!


As soon as the huge, chunky riffer 'Not Your Enemy' kicks a hole in the speakers, you know exactly what you're going to get from this 4-piece, proper modern rock at it's best, and as if in agreement on that, 'Better' steamrollers it's way into Alter Bridge territory as if to say 'We're here, deal with it'!  The quiet guitar intro to 'Be There' can't mask what is coming in the form of a crashing drum beat by Robyn Haycock, powerful from the off, with a searing solo on the guitar from Chris Davis thrown in for good measure to ensure the track loses none of it's pulsating appeal.  Whereas 'Let Me Go' just grabs you by the nads, grips them tightly as Rich Moss delivers his brash vocals on this Tremonti-styled rocker, then flicks them away at the sudden ending! (What kind of cheese was that?!)  


The band take the tempo down a couple of notches on the slow-burning 'Wait For You', where Moss sounds like a younger, less raspy version of Chad Kroeger singing the song which no doubt Nickelback would love to have in their catalogue, but probably wouldn't do it justice like these lads do, and as far as the 'Back are concerned, listen and weep to hypnotic tones of 'Save Tomorrow' guys, it gets no better than this!


Picking up the tempo again, the infectious head-nodder 'This Life' benefits from a baritone-esque bass line from Kieron Conroy that vibrates right through to the soul, with a slight tickling of James Dean Bradfield soloism on the six-string chipping in 3/4 of the way through, not identical, but quite similar to the Manic's main man style, then we slow down once again to take in the mellow rocker 'Another Day', and no matter how much Moss pushes his vocals to take the track to a heavier place, the mellower mood says 'No'!!  Things do get heavier, a lot heavier on 'Fall Back Down', due to the grinding riff-fest and solid militant drumming which gives the song a fist-pumping feel to it, full of energy and if you put your mind to it, think Rammstein meets Volbeat and you'll be on the right track.


There's only one way that this album could've finished, and that's with (surprise, surprise!) a ballsy, dynamic rocker, so the finger-popping solo that begins 'Stay All Night' lets the cat out of the bag straight away, and from then on, the band let the music do their talking, loud and clear, and in the words of one Rock D.J., it's full of huge chunky riffs, a massive infectious chorus, the band has it all!


Regardless of any similarities being made to other bands, it's refreshing to see a new British band like Stone Broken pushing their way through the ranks quickly and showing the world that 'us Brits' can play the modern way just as well as 'Johnny Foreigner', and on evidence of 'All In Time', they do it an awful lot better too!! Keep it up, lads.

Review by: Rob Baldwin



1. Not Your Enemy
2. Better 
3. Be There 
4. Let Me Go 
5. Wait For You 
6. Save Tomorrow 
7. This Life 
8. Another Day 
9. Fall Back Down 
10. Stay All Night 


 All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall zine unless otherwise stated and may not be reproduced with prior written permission.