Album Reviews
Band: Blaze Bayley

Title: The Redemption of William Black

Label: Blaze Bayley Records

Picking up immediately from where the last two albums left off, ‘The Redemption of William Black’ follows suit of its predecessors by cramming 11 songs full of infectious classic heavy metal.

Blaze certainly knows how to write a catchy song or two with opening numbers ‘Redeemer’ and ‘Are You Here’ layering anthemic choruses upon searing riffs and melodies.  Semi ballad’s ‘Human Eyes’ and ‘Life Goes On’ shows Blaze’s softer melancholic side and that he ain't just a one trick pony when it comes to penning great tunes.  It’s not just a one-man show with the boys from Absolva contributing massively towards making this record sound as huge as it does.  ‘Prayers of Light’ and ’18 Days’ epitomize the very essence of great British heavy metal, with the bedrock rhythm section-providing Blaze with all the room to thrive upon with his powerful vocals. 

Like every true craftsman, Blaze saves his best for last.  The 9-minute ‘Eagle Spirit’ hit’s a final home run with uplifting choruses, lavish doses of captivating melodies and is a fitting way to conclude Blazes 3 part masterpiece of the ‘Infinite Entanglement’ trilogy. 

Review by: Rob Herald



1.  Redeemer
2.  Are You Here
3.  Immortal Here
4.  The First True Sign
5.  Human Eyes
6.  Prayers Of Light
7.  18 Days
8.  Already Won
9.  Life Goes On
10. The Dark Side of Black
11. Eagle Spirit 


 All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall zine unless otherwise stated and may not be reproduced with prior written permission.