Album Reviews
Band: Kreek

Title: Kreek

Label: Frontiers Music Srl

As they say, when one door closes, another one opens, so for Antony Ellis, his departure from British Rock hopefuls Bigfoot found him forming a new outfit after Frontiers wanted to continue to work with him, so in came Lee Andrews on Bass, Nick Clarke-guitar and Seb Sweet-drums, hey Presto ... Kreek! They have now released their debut self-titled album, so will it prove that Ellis' move was to be a good one? Well, kicking off the album is a near 7 minute solid rocker 'At The Bottom Of Hell', full of thrusting riffs and pounding rhythm section that drive the track along, Ellis' vocals soaring along for the ride, giving the song a gentler side of Iron Maiden vibe, as he/they do on the galloping 'Man On My Shoulder', Sweet's drumming the focal point to the whole song. 'Missiles' literally explodes into life on a huge section of power drumming and string-melting riff, Ellis' ball-busting vocal matching it all the way until the wah-wah'd solo kicks in ... game over! 
'Meet Your Maker' bludgeons into action on a grundgy, heavy set of riffage and snarling bass/drum combo that holds firm through the chorus, where you feel the need to join in with the gang-like growl, such is the passion and power behind the track.  Yet be ready to change all that and get ready to shake some butt during the heavily funked-up rocker 'Million Dollar Man', very Extreme-ish if they had beefed up their sound, and Ellis sounds in his element here, quite suited to the style of this one as it shows he just isn't your average gritty-voiced frontman. 

That Maiden shadow hangs over 'One Voice', the higher pitched vocals, duelling guitar solos, heavy bassline, thudding drums, they're all there on this mid-pacer, yet the pace is slowed down to fist-pumping Saxon-alike vibe for 'Stand Together', where the shout of 'C'mon Boys' is straight up Biff, leading the band with his battle-cry on this Histrionic tale of a song that shows the skill on the solos again from Clarke. 

'Down 'N Dirty' does what it says on the tin, it grooves away on a sleazy set of drums/riffs/bass and really not much else, unless you want to mention that Ellis could be licking his eyebrows during his vocal output, the whole sound of this song is just plain ... dirty, so get the shower switched on and put to it's coldest temperature 'cos after that along comes the raunchy 'Get Up'.  Andrew's throbbing bassline and Ellis' saucy vocals mixing together to give the listener a hot flush, so jump in that shower and close yer eyes! 

Finishing off the album is the power ballad 'You're On Your Own', which will no doubt get those mobile torches out in their droves, (remember lighters!!).  Ellis singing from the heart along with the harmonies as the tender music flowing through from the band hits the spot, but if I had to be honest, I'd rather have heard this song mid way through the album to break the heaviness up than having it at the end, though that doesn't mean it's a bad song, as a ballad it's great, just not an album closer for me. 

Only time will tell if that closed/open door comes to be a good thing all round, but on evidence of 'Kreek', there's certainly a lot to be proud of, so it'll be a case of 'watch this space' over the next few weeks for the band.  Good luck lads.

Review by: Robb Baldwin



1.  At The Bottom Of Hell
2.  Missiles
3.  Meet Your Maker
4.  Million Dollar Man
5.  One Voice
6.  Man On My Shoulder
7.  Stand Together
8.  Down N' Dirty
9.  Get It
10. You're On Your Own


 All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall zine unless otherwise stated and may not be reproduced with prior written permission.