Album Reviews
Band: Restless Spirits

Title: Restless Spirits

Label: Frontiers Music Srl


Restless Spirits is the new project from Lords of Black guitarist Tony Hernando, who takes a step back from the Heavy Metal stylings of Lords of Black, for a more Melodic / Hard Rock approach for this album.  

Bringing on board six singers for the project, a veritable who's who of today's rock scene, featuring Johnny Gioeli (Hardline, Axel Rudi Pell), Deen Castronovo (Revolution Saints, ex-Journey), Dino Jelusic (Animal Drive), Kent Hilli (Perfect Plan), Alessandro Del Vecchio (Hardline) and Diego Valdez (Dream Child).  Castronovo also plays drums on the entirety of the album.  With such an array of fantastic artists you’d expect something rather special and you’d be right.  

The album gets off the flying start with 'Stop Livin' To Live Online', featuring Gioeli on vocals.  This opener really sets the bar for the rest of the album.  The song starts off with a slow piano intro, but soon bursts into flurry of soaring guitar licks. 

'Unbreakable' also starts off with a little piano intro, but this time alongside a great guitar riff from Hernando, with Castronovo providing the vocals for this one, showing he is not just a great drummer, but that he also has a great melodic rock vocal. 

It's hard rocking all the way with 'I Remember Your Name' with Hilli providing the vocal might for this one.  This has a harder feel to it, think classic 80’s and you won’t be far away with this one.

It’s time to bring a more modern feel to the Melodic Rock side of things with ‘Cause I Know You're the One',  which gives us a taste of Jelusic’s vocal prowess.  It's very much riff driven this song and a great track to really get your teeth into. 

Gioeli takes up the mike once more for the gentler refrain of the ballad 'Nothing I Could Give You', before rocking things up a touch with the single 'Calling You'.  Castronovo once again delivers the goods on this one and continues on the excellent 'Live to Win'.

The next two tracks feature the might Italian Del Vecchio, who brings that classic 80’s hard rock back with 'You And', before the superb ballad 'When It Comes To You'.  The gentle balladesque tones continue with the intro to 'Lost Time (Not To Be Found Again)', before this one rocks up big style with the mighty Jelusic bringing the heat. 

The album closes in style with 'In the Realm of The Black Rose', the only track to feature Diego Valdez.  This seven minutes plus epic is pure gold and really shows off Hernando’s talents as a songwriter.

I could wax lyrical about each track in great depth, but you will have to take my word for it, this album is just pure ear-candy and ranks as one of the best albums of 2019.

Review by: Barry McMinn



1.  Stop Livin' To Live Online
2.  Unbreakable
3.  I Remember Your Name
4.  'Cause I Know You're The One
5.  Nothing I could Give To You
6.  Calling You
7.  Live To Win
8.  You And I
9.  When It Comes To You
10. Lost Time 
11. In The Realm Of The Black Rose


 All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall zine unless otherwise stated and may not be reproduced with prior written permission.