Artist: Section A
   Title: Sacrifice
   Label: Lion Music

It's been four years since Andy Engerg and Torben Enevoldsen got together for their 'Parallel Lives' album, but the wait is well worth it when you catch a listen to their new opus ‘Sacrifice’.  The pair are joined on this album by new drummer Thomas Heintzelmann and together they have pushed the boundaries of the bands sound even further.  This time a more heavier sound is produced and it's a sound I really like.

From the opener and title track ‘Sacrifice’ you can feel the heavier vibe with Envoldsen just sublime on the old six string razor, cutting fiery lick after lick and this is just track one, great stuff!

The ballsy metal just keeps on coming with the riff laden ‘Room With A View’, as well as the fantastic guitar work you have to admire the smooth and powerful vocal might of Engberg, who delivers track after track and this is one of his finest.

One of my many favourite songs on the album has to be the old school metal of ‘Lionheart’.  Big chunky bass lines with a simple but effective guitar riff, but you can't beat old school metal, if you like me love power and melody, then this one has them in spades.

We take a short detour on this metal road-trip and enter the Power Metal enthused, almost Iron Maiden like six minute plus epic ‘Land Of The Desert Sun, and the more mellower Melodic Metal of ‘Concealed In Lies’.  A track that shows the band can bring it down a notch or two when the need arises.  You don’t have to go full tilt all the time and this is a great powerful track, with Engberg shining through again while Enevoldsen throws out some superb guitar licks on this one that just ignite the whole song and give it added power.

It's full steam ahead again with the excellent ‘Intoxicated’ and the equally great ‘Heroes’, on which Enevoldsen really shows his virtuoso guitar style, then it's back to the head on Heavy Metal with ‘Days of Sorrow’ and my favourite track of the album the simply sublime ‘Danger’.  This one is pure Metal all the way.  A huge guitar sound once more, with Heintzelmann pounding out a solid drum foundation that is built upon with some stunning vocals from Engberg, great horn raising metal \m/ .

The album closes with ‘The City Is Falling’, a track that starts off slowly but soon builds into a crescendo of ball breaking metal licks and massive rhythms, which is capped off with the rich vocals of Engberg and wraps up another stunning album from Section A.  It may have been four years in the making, but this is sure worth the wait.  


01. Sacrifice
02. Room With A View
03. Lionheart
04. Land Of The Desert Sun
05. Concealed In Lies
06. Intoxicated
07. Heroes
08. Days Of Sorrow
09. Danger
10. The City Is Falling



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.