Artist: Silverjet 
   Title: Silverjet
   Label: Kerosine Records

Without a doubt one of the hardest working bands to come out of Sheffield are Silverjet, the bands no gig too small, no venue too far approach has seen the band grow over the years.

I’ve seen the band live on numerous occasions and they have been mixed affairs, sometimes they’ve been tremendous and sometimes they have been let down by poor sound and haven’t come across as they should.

The band first started out as a Quireboys type band riff filled blues, which was fine as their career was only at its infancy, but now the band have grown and developed a sound all of their own.  It's still hard rock but with a unique signature that Silverjet can call their own.

I was given this album by the band after their stunning Hanoi Rock support slot at Newcastle late last year. Sadly due to personal and family losses things were put on the back boiler, so catching up with the major labels was made priority and the independent releases were temporarily put aside.  Now it's all system go in 2009 and the rest has seen a new lease of life in my writing and now here it is, the long awaited review of the bands self-titled release, and was it worth waiting for believe me when I say HELL YEAH!. 

The album gets underway with ‘Crazy’ and it's clear that the band have really gone all out on this album.  The production is great and this really is the best Silverjet have sounded with Dave Kerr vocals at their best and the rest of the band Jon Hardcastle, Andy Mewse and Paul Oates (who by this time has left the band) are just equally impressive. The big sound just comes pouring out with every track as the album continues with ‘Broken’, a real bluesy slung down guitar feel to this one, then it’s a personal favourite ‘Hell Yeah’, another gritty slung down guitar filled anthem.

I said I’ve seen the band a few time live and one track that always goes down a storm is ‘Mardigras’, an oldie but a goodie, whether it’s a set closer or opener this one really rocks.

The band do have a mellow side and this is reflected in the superb ‘Lie With Me’, this is where Kerr really shines for me as a vocalist, anyone can scream out a tune but to sing a ballad you must have a voice and Kerr has just that.  This is his finest vocal performance on the entire album for me.   Then it's back to the up-tempo rockers with ‘Out To Dry’, the splendid ‘Cold Love’, the anthemic arena rock tones of ‘Just Another Rock Show’, the groove filled ‘By The Way’ and the equally groovy almost funky ‘220’.

The album wraps things up with ‘Toe The Line’ and topping things off with another superb ballad ‘The Final Chapter’ with Kerr showing his talents on the piano.

There’s no doubt the band have the songs to go far it's just the breaks they need now and as I said after their show in Newcastle, a few high profile support slots and the right people at the shows should see a future full of promise for the band.

Again apologies to the band for the lateness of the review!


1. Crazy
2. Broken
3. Hell Yeah
4. Mardigras
5. Lie With Me
6. Out To Dry
7. Cold Love
8. Just Another Rock Show
9. By The Way
10. 220
11. Toe The Line
12. The Final Chapter




All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.