Artist:  Six Feet Under 
   Title:  Unborn 
   Label: Metal Blade  

Chris Barnes is a man who needs little introduction.  He was the brainchild behind the violent, gore-infested lyrics of Cannibal Corpseís first four albums has been at the forefront of death metal since the early 1990s.  Barnes began Six Feet Under as a side project but since his departure from Cannibal Corpse in 1996, the former has become his full time role.

Unleashing their tenth album 'UNBORN' Six Feet Under continue their unrelenting assault of death metal firing on all cylinders from start to finish.

The crushing opening track 'NEURO OSMOSIS' has it all, great hooks, monster riffs, brilliant breakdown sections and of course Chris Barnes unmistakable voice.  The tempo gets pushed with the brutal 'PROPHECY' and is followed by 'ZOMBIE BLOOD CURSE' that has a killer breakdown section in the middle of the song.  'DECAPITATE' is as savage as the song title and 'INCISION' has a slower sludge feel running throughout.  'FRAGMENT' starts with a monster riff that feels like your head is being battered through a concrete block with Barnes growling viciously over the top of it. 

Reminiscing of Cannibal Corpse, 'ALIVE TO KILL YOU' starts with a pounding rhythm section and finishes as frantically as it started.  The shortest track on the album 'THE SINISTER CRAVING' has a strange guitar hook and is largely based around Barnes voice venomously spitting out the lyrics.  'INFERNO' and 'PSYCHOSIS' provide more than enough riffs to satisfy the most hardcore metalhead.  The closing track 'THE CURSE OF THE ANCIENTS' is gut wrenching, aggressive and rounds off the album perfectly.

It is hard to sound original and make something fresh and innovative but Six Feet Under has succeeded with all of these. There is clearly strong musicianship with this rejuvenated lineup, resulting in a killer record that solidifies Six Feet Under as one of death metalís finest.

Review by: Rob Herald 


1.  Neuro Osmosis
2. Prophecy
3. Zombie Blood Curse
4. Decapitate
5. Incision
6. Fragment
7. Alive To Kill You
8. The Sinister Craving
9. Inferno
10. Psychosis
11. The Curse Of Ancients  



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.