Artist: Jeff Scott Soto 
   Title: Live In Madrid
   Label: Frontiers Records

As one of the most loved performers in the whole Melodic Rock genre Jeff Scott Soto has rose to the almost god like stature in the genre.  His undoubted talent is produced time and time again, on album after album from his solo material and his time in bands like Talisman and his short spell in Journey.

Riding high on the success of his latest solo album 'Beautiful Mess', Soto toured in support of the album and rounded of the tour in style with a show in Madrid, which was recorded live not just for CD but also DVD.  The resulting show is Soto as his very best live and the show spans his career and has all the fans favourites.

The CD version is a twin disc set that comes across as a great live album, opening up with a small smorgasbord of clips that lead into the show, which kicks off with ‘21st Century’ and from here on in it's Soto gold.

With such golden moments like ‘Soul Divine’, ‘Mountain’ and ‘Hey’, there are also a few surprise moments like the cover ‘Crazy’, ‘We Will Rock You’ and the superb rocker ‘Stand Up’ taken from the movie Rock Star.

And what JSS show wouldn’t be complete without the infamous 'Funky Medley', a real show topper which includes 'Funky Medley: We Will Rock You / I Love Rock & Roll / Play That Funky Music / Jungle Boogie / The Roof Is On Fire / Brick House / Shake Your Booty / Kung Fu Fighting / Yo Baby Yo / Macho Man / The Right Stuff / Ice Ice Baby / Stayin' Alive / Another One Bites The Dust / Walk This Way', like a said a real show stopper.

The DVD version also includes video clips: 'Holding On', 'Eyes Of Love', 'Believe In Me' (w/- Neal Schon), 'If This Is The End', '21st Century', 'Hey', 'Gin &Tonic Sky' and also a special Tribute video  'In Memory of Marcel Jacob'

This is a must buy for fans of Soto and even if you're not familiar with his material, this will make you go out and check him out in more detail.  As one of the great vocalist in the genre, Soto has it all in spades and is surely meant for great thinks, so let's see what 2010 has in store.


01. Intro
02. 21st Century
03. Colour My XTC
04. Soul Divine
05. Our Song
06. Mountain
07. Eyes Of Love
08. Testify
09. Broken Man
10. Hey
11. Frozen 


12. Crazy
13. If This Is The End
14. Holding On
15. Nobody Said It Was Easy
16. 4 U
17. Just Between Us
18. Gin & Tonic
19. I'll Be Waiting
20. Stand Up
21. We Will Rock You
22. I Love Rock & Roll
23. Funky Medley 


All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.