Artist: Sunstorm 
   Title: House Of Dreams
   Label: Frontiers Records

Well here it is the second Sunstorm album and again another album that shows why Joe Lynn Turner is one of my all time favourite vocalists, as his vocals never seem to lose there passion for great Melodic Rock songs.  Once again this new Sunstorm album is jam packed full of such songs. 

The album opens up with ‘Divided’ and instantly Turner’s vocals shine.  If anyone caught up with Turners solo material then you will know the man has an affinity with the genre and has become more than just the man who fronted Rainbow.  He has become a legend amongst the Melodic Rock hordes.

The album is pure bliss and continues with ‘Don’t Give Up’, a great mid tempo rocker that really give Turner a chance to pull out all the stops.

But what he is perhaps more famous for is the softer ballad style songs and these are aplenty on the album with the first of these being ‘The Spirit Inside’.  A soaring vocal from Turner that lifts the track from being a mediocre Melodic Rock track into something rather special.

The next track ‘I Found Love’ may seem familiar to some and that's because this is the track Turner used to open up his live shows with on the 'Rescue You' tour. It's a great full on Melodic rocker that just seems ageless and the guitar work on it is just magnificent.  There are so many great tracks on this album it's almost impossible to pick a favourite but one of the contenders has to be the sublime ‘Say You Will’, another great song written by the one and only Jim Peterik.  So you know this is going to be quality before even hearing it and Turner really gives this one the vocals it deserves.

The second of the songs penned by Peterik is the fantastic ‘Gutters of Gold’.  Now this one was high on my list of tracks of the album and features Peterik at his song writing best.  Once again Turner stamps his mark on it with style.

Next up it’s a couple of songs where Paul Sabu lends his writing craft too.  The first of these being ‘Save A Place In Your Heart’, yet again another classy slice of AOR that really brings out the best in Turner, and then it’s the mid tempo rocker ‘Forever Now’, as with all of the tracks this is pure Melodic heaven.

Another track with writing credits is the Russ Ballad Jon Lind song ‘Tears On The Pages’, another superb rock ballad before we move on to the title track ‘House Of Dreams’.  Another of my favourites, a real cracker that played at full volume really rocks.  Then the final track is one penned by the man himself with Desmond Child for none other than Jimmy Barnes's  'Freight Train Heart' album in 1987 and rounds off another great Sunstorm album.  Let's hope when Turner appears at this years Z Rocks that a few of these songs make the set list because they deserve to be heard live as all great rock music should.



1. Divided
2.Don't Give Up
3.The Spirit Inside
4. I Found Love
5.Say You Will
6. Gutters Of Gold
7. Save A Place In Your Heart
8. Forever Now
9. Tears On The Pages
10.House Of Dreams
11. Walk On



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.