Artist: Tears Of Anger 
   Title: In The Shadows
   Label: Lion Music

The Swedish melodic metal band Tears of Anger might not be a band's name you instantly recognize, but after only one listen to the bands new release 'In The Shadows' I’m sure it’s a name that will very soon be on a lot of people’s lips.

The album is one of the gems of the years so far, the power strewn vocals of Bjorn Jansson being just one of the highlights of the album.  The band manages to keep melody in such a heavy sound and the result is something special.

The album opens up with the title track ‘In The Shadows’ and from the off the sheer quality of the album is plain for all too hear. The heavy bass lines and the soaring guitar riffs make for compulsive listening.

From this point on the album goes from strength to strength with each track hailing the bands return to the fold.

The heavy feel to the album continues on ‘Spirit Running Free’, which is very much in the same vane as Jorn Lande’s Masterplan project.

The quality of musicianship on this album is top notch, with the addition of Minds Eye members Daniel Flores (Drums) and Johan Niemann (bass), mixed with the brothers Bjorn and Benny, talent is abundant in the Tears Of Anger camp.

It's hard to say that an album hasn’t any flaws, but this is one of those rare occurrences where I simply can't find fault with any aspect of the album.  The production is superb, the songs are great, and the band are simply majestic.  But don’t rest on your laurels, go check this band out for yourself and tell your friends before they starting telling you how good these guys really are.


1. In the Shadows
2. Spirit running Free
3. Tears in my Eyes
4. I hate You
5. Sell my Soul
6. Live these Dreams
7. Scene of the Crime
8. Light up my Fuse
9. How will I live
10. Full of Lies
11. Close to the Fire
12. I'm coming Home


All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.