Artist: Twin Spirits 
   Title: The Forbidden City
   Label: Lion Music

In 2007 Twin Spirits set the Progressive Metal world alight with their debut album ‘The Music That Will Heal The World’,  now in 2009 the band return with a new singer and a new album.  The album is entitled ‘Forbidden City’, the new vocalist is Sweden’s Göran Nyström and together Twin Spirits are back and once again set to set tongues a-waging with this new release.

The nucleus of the band remains Daniele Liverani who along with Nystrom and guitarist Tommy Ermolli, bassist Alberto Rigoni and drummer Dario Ciccioni, deliver a top notch Prog Metal album.

Things get underway in impressive style with the ten-minute opener and title track ‘The Forbidden City’ and instantly the superb musicianship is brought to the forefront, with Nystrom being the icing on cake by bringing a powerful force to the album with his tremendous vocal prowess.

Liverani’s keyboards get the more gentle ‘Taste Of Infinity’ started before Nystrom shows the passive side of his vocals on this gentle prog ballad, before picking things up big style with the fantastic ‘Number One’.  A stomping slice of prog metal that just rocks big style. A massive song that could have easily been my favourite on the album is it wasn’t for a certain other track, but more of that later.

It's back to the epic pieces as the album continues with ‘Everything’, again a keyboard frenzy by Liverani gets this one underway, before the heady guitar and bass rhythms take over and Nystrom unleashes that massive vocal.  A great track, enough said!

The ball busting guitars of Tommy Ermolli are the main attraction on ‘One Of Us’ as he just ignites the fret board on this one.  All this before that favourite track of mine, the simply sublime ‘BTR’. This is Prog Metal at its best as all the elements are here, big keyboards, a huge rhythm section and great guitar hooks.  Even without any vocals this is a real top notch track that really sits head and shoulders above what has gone before, and what has gone before wasn’t too shabby either.

I would have been happy to stop the album there but there is more to this superb album as things continue with ‘Hide This Feeling’, this time with Nystrom dueting with a female vocalist (who wasn’t listed on the bio) on this excellent gentle ballad.

It's back on the accelerator with the stunning ‘My Future’, another shining light on this stunning release as Nystrom once again powers on through.  Then it's time to rock with ‘Reaction’, a real go getter rock track that really shows how Twin Spirits have progressed since the debut album.  This one sways more towards the traditional metal than most of the tracks on the album but that’s not a bad thing, as it shows the band are not afraid to push the envelope even further.

This great album closes as it started on a high with the power driven ten-minute epic ‘I Am Free’, a stunning end to a stunning album.  So be prepared to enter The Forbidden City because beyond the city gates there is a mountain of pure Progressive Metal gold.


01. The Forbidden City
02. Taste The Infinity
03. Number One
04. Everything
05. One Of Us
06. BTR
07. Hide This Feeling
08. My Future
09. Reaction
10. I Am Free



All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall Zine unless otherwise stated.