DVD Reviews
Band: Michael Schenker's Temple Of Rock

Title: On A Mission - Live In Madrid

Label: inakustik

Recorded on 19th November last year (2015) at Madrid’s Joy Eslava Theatre, on their 'Spirit on a Mission' tour, Michael Schenker’s Temple of Rock showed the Axeman and his cohorts Dougie White, Wayne Finlay, and a top class rhythm section of ex-Scorpions Francis Buchholz and Herman “The German” Rarebell at the live best, as they go through a selection of classic Schenker, with songs taken from his UFO, Scorpions and MSG days, as well as his more recent Temple of Rock. 

Opening up with their Schenker intro 'Ocean Odyssey’, before ripping up with some classic UFO with 'Doctor Doctor' and 'Lights Out', with 'Live and Let Live' from the 'Sprit on a Mission' album, splitting these classic cuts.

The whole set is beautifully filmed in 4K, from varying cameras and captures the true spectacle of the whole show, which continues with ‘Where The Wild Wind Blows’, with White at his very best.

As for the main man himself, he never sounded better and has the biggest smile on his face as he interacts with the crowd, all the while making those signature Flying V’s sings.

The set has all the classics you could require, ‘Lovedrive’, 'Rock Bottom’, ‘Blackout’, of course ‘Attack of the Mad Axeman’, but for me the Temple of Rock songs show this band has the songs to stand out from the classics.  Songs like ‘Vigilante Man’, ‘Before the Devil Knows Your Name’ and ‘Communion’.

I must also say Finlay is the perfect six string partner for Schenker and the ex-Scorps rhythm section still have their sting.

Being a DVD there are additional bonus sections, including scenes from outside the venue as the fans eagerly await Michael, introduced by White who takes time out for autographs and photos with the fans.  There's also shots at the sound check.  All-in-all, a great DVD and a worthy addition to any fan of the Mad Axeman himself and fans of great hi-octane guitar fuelled rock n' roll.

Review by: Barry McMinn



1. Ocean Odyssey (Intro)  
2. Doctor Doctor
3. Live And Let Live 
4. Lights Out  
5. Where The Wind Blows 
6. Natural Thing 
7.Before The Devil Knows Your Dead 
8. Victim Of Illusion 
9. Coast To Coast 
10. Vigilante Man 



11. Rock My Nights Away  
12. Saviour Machine 

13. Too Hot To Handle 
14. Only You Can Rock Me 
15. Lord Of The Lost And Lonely 
16. Rock You Like A Hurricane 
17. Rock Bottom 
18. Horizons 
19. Attack Of The Mad Axeman  
20. Communion  
21. Blackout



 All content copyright of The Mayfair Mall zine unless otherwise stated and may not be reproduced with prior written permission.